Myths about PTSD

Hey everyone! I hope you learned something form my post on PTSD. As I was learning more about it I found this great Myths and Facts section about PTSD on PsychCentral by Sara Staggs (LICSW, MSW, MPH) and I wanted to share it. Here is what I found:

EXPOSURE MYTHS:

  • MYTH: Everyone who experiences a life-threatening even will develop PTSD.
    • FALSE. Most people who experience a qualifying event will not get PTSD and will gradually/naturally see a decrease in symptoms.
  • MYTH: People who are weak get PTSD.
    • FALSE: There are so many factors involving PTSD and none of it is personal strength. The factors can range from the triggering, gender, how one is raised, to their social support but personal strength is not one of them.

 

SYMPTOMS AND COPING MYTHS:

  • MYTH: After some time I should be alright from my traumatic experience.
    • FALSE: Sometimes you can have forgot about a traumatic experiencing and something can trigger and bring up the memory.
  • MYTH: I can’t seek any healing because the trauma I experienced happened too long ago.
    • FALSE: It is never too late to seek help. While it is great to get help and talk with people about your experience, you can still receive help many years after the trauma.
  • MYTH: I should be able to handle this myself.
    • FALSE: If you broke you are you wouldn’t sit around the house waiting for it to heal on its home, you would go to a doctor. The same way you would go to a doctor, seeking help is always beneficial. Statistically the group that has the hardest time seeking help is men.

 

PTSD THERAPY MYTHS:

  • MYTH: Once I get it done with and talk about this trauma I will be fine.
    • FALSE: While discussing the trauma helps it is not the entire solution. Seeking help can range anywhere from a few sessions to a year or more. The goal is not to rush through therapy but to get the help you need to be free of PTSD.
  • MYTH: If I can’t remember the abuse, I won’t be able to process and heal from the trauma.
    • FALSE: While memory can help process trauma it is not the only way. There are new forms of therapy that focus on the emotions the body feels in regards to the trauma that have proven to be successful.
Leave a Reply

